PACSCL logo

Philadelphia Area Consortium of Special Collections Libraries
P. O. Box 22642, Philadelphia PA 19110-2642
(215) 985-1445 voice, (215) 985-1446 fax * pacscl@pacscl.org
About | Member Profiles | Member Resources | Catalogs | Projects | What's New | Exhibitions and Programs | Shopping | Contact PACSCL | HOME

PLEASE NOTE: This is an archived site. For PACSCL's current site, visit http://www.pacscl.org/


Philadelphia Area Consortium of
Special Collections Libraries
Central Offices:
P.O. Box 22642, Philadelphia PA 19110-2642
(215) 985-1445 voice, 215-985-1446, fax
Laura Blanchard, Executive Director, lblanchard@pacscl.org

Consortial Survey Staff
c/o The Historical Society of Pennsylvania
1300 Locust Street, Philadelphia PA 19107

Christine Di Bella, Director: 215-732-6200 ext 201, cdibella@hsp.org
John Armstrong, Surveyor, jarmstrong@hsp.org
Jennifer Barr, Surveyor, jbarr@hsp.org

Directory

image of libraries Table of Contents


Executive Committee

    • Chair, Derick Dreher, Rosenbach Museum
    • Vice Chair: Robert Kieft, Haverford College
    • Secretary: V. Chapman-Smith, National Archives
    • Treasurer: Margery Sly, Presbyterian Historical Society
    • Access Committee Chair: Eric Pumroy, Bryn Mawr College
    • Disaster Planning Committee Chair : Joan Decker, City of Philadelphia, Department of Records
    • At Large: Martin Levitt, American Philosophical Society; Lynn Dorwaldt, Wagner Free Institute of Science

PACSCL Institutions

Academy of Natural Sciences of Philadelphia American Philosophical Society
Athenaeum of Philadelphia Bryn Mawr College
Chemical Heritage Foundation City of Philadelphia, Department of Records
College of Physicians of Philadelphia Free Library of Philadelphia
Hagley Museum & Library Haverford College
The Historical Society of Pennsylvania   LaSalle University
Library Company of Philadelphia The Lutheran Theological Seminary at Philadelphia
National Archives - Mid Atlantic Region   Pennsylvania Horticultural Society
Philadelphia Museum of Art Presbyterian Historical Society
Rosenbach Museum & Library State Library of Pennsylvania
Swarthmore College Temple University
University of Delaware University of Pennsylvania
Villanova University Wagner Free Institute of Science
Winterthur Museum, Gardens, and Library    

PACSCL Board of Directors

Lorena Boylan
Academy of Natural Sciences Library
1900 Benjamin Franklin Parkway
Philadelphia, PA 19103-1195
Tel.: 215-299-1041
Fax: 215-299-1144

boylan@acnatsci.org

Martin Levitt
American Philosophical Society
105 South Fifth Street
Philadelphia, PA 19106-3386
Tel.: 215-440-3403
Fax: 215-440-3423

mlevitt@amphilsoc.org

Roger W. Moss
Athenaeum of Philadelphia
219 South 6th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19106-3794
Tel.: 215-925-2688
Fax: 215-925-3755
rwmoss@athenaonline.org
Eric Pumroy
Bryn Mawr College
Mariam Coffin Canaday Library
Bryn Mawr, PA 19010-2899
Tel.: 610-526-5272
Fax: 610-526-7480
epumroy@brynmawr.edu
Ronald Brashear
Chemical Heritage Foundation
315 Chestnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19106
Tel.: 215-925-2222, ext. 226
Fax: 215-925-1954

Joan Decker, Commissioner
Department of Records
City of Philadelphia
City Hall, Room 156
Philadelphia PA 19106
215-686-2261
joan.decker@phila.gov

George Wohlreich, M.D.
President

College of Physicians of Philadelphia
19 South 22nd Street
Philadelphia, PA 19103
Tel.: 215-563-3737
Fax: 215-569-0356
gwohlreich@collphyphil.org

James De Walt
Free Library of Philadelphia
Rare Book Department
1901 Vine Street
Philadelphia, PA 19103-1189
Tel.: 215-686-5416
Fax: 215-563-3628
dewaltj@library.phila.gov
Terry Snyder
Hagley Museum & Library
P.O. Box 3630
Wilmington, DE 19807
Tel.: 302-658-2400
Fax: 302-658-0568
tsnyder@hagley.org
Robert Kieft
Haverford College Library
Haverford, PA 19041
Tel.: 610-896-1272
Fax: 610-896-1102
rkieft@haverford.edu
Kim Sajet, President
The Historical Society of Pennsylvania
1300 Locust Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
Tel.: 215-732-6200, ext. 213
Fax: 215-732-2680
pres@hsp.org

John S. Baky, Director of Libraries
LaSalle University
1900 W. Olney Avenue
Philadelphia PA 19141-1199
215-951-1285 voice
215-951-1595 fax
baky@lasalle.edu

John C. Van Horne, Director
Library Company of Philadelphia
1314 Locust Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
Tel.: 215-546-3181
Fax: 215-546-5167
jcvh@librarycompany.org

Karl Krueger
Krauth Memorial Library
The Lutheran Theological Seminary at Philadelphia
7301 Germantown Avenue
Philadelphia PA 19119-1794
Tel.: 215-248-6330
Fax: 215-248-6327
kkrueger@ltsp.edu

V. Chapman-Smith
Regional Administrator
National Archives and Records Administration
Mid Atlantic Region
900 Market Street
Philadelphia PA 19107-4292
V Chapman-Smith, Regional Administrator
Tel.: 215-606-0102
Fax: 212-606-0116
v.chapman-smith@nara.gov

C. Danial Elliott
Philadelphia Museum of Art
P. O. Box 7646
Philadelphia PA 19101
Tel.: 215-684-7651
Fax: 215-236-0534
delliott@philamuseum.org
Janet Evans
Pennsylvania Horticultural Society
100 North 20th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19103
Tel: 215-988-8779
Fax: 215-988-8783
jevans@pennhort.org
Margery Sly
Presbyterian Historical Society
425 Lombard Street
Philadelphia, PA 19147
Tel.: 215-928-3896
Fax: 215-627-0509
msly@history.pcusa.org
Derick Dreher
Rosenbach Museum & Library
2010 DeLancey Place
Philadelphia, PA 19103
Tel.: 215-732-1600
Fax: 215-545-7529
ddreher@rosenbach.org

Caryn J. Carr, Director
Bureau of State Library
Office of Commonwealth Libraries
Pennsylvania Department of Eduction
333 Market Street
Harrisburg PA 17126-1745
cacarr@state.pa.us

Christopher Densmore
Swarthmore College
Friends Historical Library
500 College Avenue
Swarthmore, PA 19081-1399
Tel.: 610-328-8497
Fax: 610-328-7329
cdensmo1@swarthmore.edu
Thomas M. Whitehead
Special Collections Dept.
Samuel Paley Library
Temple University
Philadelphia, PA 19122-6088
Tel.: 215-204-4371
Fax: 215-204-5201
whitetm@temple.edu

Timothy D. Murray
Head, Special Collections
University of Delaware Library
181 South College Avenue
Newark, DE 19717-5267
University of Delaware Library
Tel.: 302-831-2229
Fax: 302-831-1046
tdm@udel.edu

Carton Rogers, Vice Provost & Director of Libraries
Van Pelt-Dietrich Library Center
University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6206
Tel.: 215-898-7552
Fax: 215-573-9079
rogers@pobox.upenn.edu
Joseph Lucia
Villanova University
Falvey Memorial Library
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova PA 19085-1683
Tel.: 610-519-4291
Fax: 610-519-5018 fax
joseph.lucia@villanova.edu
Lynn Dorwaldt
Wagner Free Institute of Science
1700 West Montgomery Avenue
Philadelphia, PA 19121
Tel.: 215-763-6529 ext. 12
Fax: 215-763-1299
lynnd@wagnerfreeinstitute.org
Cate Cooney
Winterthur Museum, Gardens & Library
Winterthur, DE 19735
Tel.: 302-888-4627
Fax: 302-888-4870
ccooney@winterthur.org
 

Go to Table of Contents


Institutional Directory

Academy of Natural Sciences of Philadelphia
Ewell Sale Stewart Library
NUC symbol: PPAN
1900 Benjamin Franklin Parkway
Philadelphia, PA 19103-1195
Tel: 215-299-1040
Fax: 215-299-1144
http://www.acnatsci.org/library/index.html

  • Robert McCracken Peck, Academy Librarian and Academy Fellow, 215-299-1138, peck@acnatsci.org
  • Lorena Boylan, Administrative Librarian (PACSCL Rep), 215-299-1145, boylan@acnatsci.org
  • Eileen Mathias, Information Services Librarian, 215-299-1140, mathias@say.acnatsci.org

American Philosophical Society
NUC symbol: PPAmP
105 South Fifth Street
Philadelphia, PA 19106-3386
Tel.: 215-440-3400
Fax: 215-440-3423
http://www.amphilsoc.org/

Athenaeum of Philadelphia
NUC symbol: PPA
219 South 6th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
Tel.: 215-925-2688
Fax: 215-925-3755
http://www.athenaonline.org/

Bryn Mawr College
NUC symbol: Pbm
Mariam Coffin Canaday Library
Bryn Mawr, PA 19010-2899
Tel.: 610-526-6576
Fax: 610-526-7480
http://www.brynmawr.edu

  • Elliott Shore, Chief Information Officer, Constance A. Jones Director of Libraries, and Professor of History, 610-526-5270, eshore@brynmawr.edu
  • Eric Pumroy, Head of Special Collections (PACSCL Rep), 610-526-5272, epumroy@brynmawr.edu
  • James Tanis, Director of Libraries Emeritus and Professor of History Emeritus
  • Marianne Hansen, Special Collections Librarian, Telephone: 610-526-5289, e-mail: mhansen@brynmawr.edu.
  • Lorett Treese, Archivist, 610-526-5285, ltreese@brynmawr.edu
  • Barbara Ward Grubb, Visual Collections Specialist, 610-526-7393 bgrubb@brynmawr.edu
  • Kim Pelkey, Rare Books Cataloger, 610-526-5213, kpelkey@brynmawr.edu

Chemical Heritage Foundation
Donald F. and Mildred Topp Othmer Library of Chemical History
315 Chestnut Street
Philadelphia PA 19106
Tel.: 215-873-8269
Fax: 215-925-6195
http://www.chemheritage.org/

City of Philadelphia, Department of Records
Room 156, City Hall
Philadelphia PA 19107
Tel: 215-686-2260
http://www.phila.gov/records/

College of Physicians of Philadelphia
NUC symbol: PPC
19 South 22nd Street
Philadelphia, PA 19103
Tel.: 215-563-3737
Fax: 215-569-0356
http://www.collphyphil.org

Free Library of Philadelphia
NUC symbol: PP
Rare Book Department
1901 Vine Street
Philadelphia, PA 19103-1189
Tel.: 215-686-5416
Fax (in ILL dept.): 215-563-3628
http://www.freelibrary.org

  • James DeWalt, Department Head (PACSCL Rep.), 215-686-5416 dewaltj@freelibrary.org
  • Janine Pollock, Assistant Department Head, 215-686-5417, pollockj@freelibrary.org
  • Laura Uhlman, Reference Librarian, 215-546-5614, uhlman@freelibrary.org

Hagley Museum & Library
NUC symbol: DeGH
P.O. Box 3630
Wilmington, DE 19807
Tel.: 302-658-2400
Fax: 302-658-0568
http://www.hagley.org

  • Geoffrey Halfpenny, Director
  • Terry Snyder, Deputy Director, Library Administration, (PACSCL Rep.), tsnyder@hagley.org
  • Susan Hengel, Head, Imprints Dept., shengel@hagley.org
  • Jon Williams, Head, Pictorial Collections and Audiovisual Services, jwilliams@hagley.org
  • Lynn Catanese, Curator of Manuscripts, lcatanese@hagley.org
  • Linda Gross, Reference Librarian
  • Brad Oftelie, Cataloger
  • Lisa Schilling, Cataloger
  • Barbara Hall, Archival Asst., Pictorial Collections
  • Christopher Baer, Asst. Curator, Manuscript Collections
  • Marjorie McNinch, Reference Archivist

Haverford College Library
NUC symbol: PHC
Haverford, PA 19041
Tel.: 610-896-1161
Fax: 610-896-1102
http://www.haverford.edu/library/sc/sc.html

The Historical Society of Pennsylvania
NUC symbol: PHi
1300 Locust Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
Tel.: 215-732-6200
Fax: 215-732-2680
http://www.hsp.org

  • Kim Sajet, President, 215-732-6200, ext. 214, pres@hsp.org
  • Lee Arnold, Director of the Library and Collections (PACSCL rep), 215-732-6200, ext. 237, larnold@hsp.org
  • Matthew Lyons, Senior Manuscripts Librarian, 215-732-6200, ext. 301, mlyons@hsp.org
  • Max Moeller, Director of Research Services, 215-732-6200 ext. 247, mmoeller@hsp.org
  • Jack Gumbrecht, Assistant Director of Research Services, 215-732-6200 ext. 219, jgumbrecht@hsp.org
  • Daniel Rolph, Head of Reference Services, 215-732-6200, ext. 203, drolph@hsp.org
  • Ronald Medford, Senior Research Services Associate, 215-732-6200, ext. 216, rmedford@hsp.org
  • Lou Meehan, Photographer, 215-732-6200, ext. 253, lmeehan@hsp.org
  • Elizabeth Stone, Preservation Technician, 215-732-6200, ext. 249, estone@hsp.org
LaSalle University
Connelly Library
1900 W. Olney Avenue
Philadelphia PA 9141-1199
Tel.: 215-951-1285
Fax: 215-951-1595
http://www.lasalle.edu/library/speccoll.htm
Library Company of Philadelphia NUC symbol: PPL
1314 Locust Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107-5698
Tel.: 215-546-3181 (use to reach all)
Fax: 215-546-5167
Internet (office account): refdept@librarycompany.org
http://www.librarycompany.org

The Lutheran Theological Seminary at Philadelphia
Krauth Memorial Library
NUC symbol: PPLT
7301 Germantown Avenue
Philadelphia PA 19119-1794
Tel.: 215-248-6330
Fax: 215-248-6327
http://www.ltsp.edu/krauth/

National Archives and Records Administration - Mid Atlantic Branch
900 Market Street
Philadelphia PA 19107-4292
Tel: 215-606-0100
Fax: 215-606-0116
http://www.archives.gov/midatlantic/

Pennsylvania Horticultural Society
NUC symbol: PPHOR
100 North 20th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19103
Tel.: 215-988-8772
Fax: 215-988-8783
http://www.pennsylvaniahorticulturalsociety.org/garden/libraryhome.html

  • Janet Evans, Library Manager (PACSCL Rep.), 215-988-8779, jevans@pennhort.org
  • Elena Sisti, Information Services Librarian, 215-988-8782
  • Priscilla Becroft, Library Assistant, 215-988-8772
  • Elinor Goff, Library Aide, 215-988-8782, egoff@pennhort.org

Philadelphia Museum of Art
NUC symbol: PPPM
P. O. Box 7646
Philadelphia PA 19101
Tel.: 215-684-7650
Fax: 215-236-0534
http://www.philamuseum.org/resources/library.shtml

Presbyterian Historical Society
NUC symbol: PPPrHi
425 Lombard Street
Philadelphia, PA 19147
Tel.: 215-627-1852
Fax: 215-627-0509
http://history.pcusa.org/

Rosenbach Museum & Library
NUC symbol: PPRF
2010 DeLancey Place
Philadelphia, PA 19103
Tel.: 215-732-1600
Fax: 215-545-7529
info@rosenbach.org
http://www.rosenbach.org

State Library of Pennsylvania
Commonwealth Avenue & Walnut Street
Harrisburg PA
Mailing address:
Office of Commonwealth Libraries
333 Market Street
Harrisburg PA 17126-1745
717-787-4440 voice
http://www.statelibrary.state.pa.us/

  • Caryn J. Carr, Director, Bureau of State Library

Swarthmore College Library
NUC symbol (Friends): PSC-Hi
NUC symbol (Peace): PSC-P
500 College Avenue
Swarthmore, PA 19081-1399
Tel. (Friends): 610-328-8497
Tel. (Peace): 610-328-8557
Fax: 610-328-7329
http://www.swarthmore.edu/library

Friends Historical Library

Swarthmore College Peace Collection

McCabe Library

Temple University
NUC symbol: PPT
Samuel Paley Library
Philadelphia, PA 19122-6088
Tel.: 215-204-8230
Fax: 215-204-5201
http://www.library.temple.edu/

Special Collections

Urban Archives Center

  • Margaret Jerrido, Head, 215-204-6639, mj@temple.edu
  • Brenda Galloway, Asst. Archivist, 215-204-1639

University Archives: Conwellana-Templana Collection

Blockson Library: Sullivan Hall

  • Charles L. Blockson, 215-204-6632

University of Delaware Library
Special Collections Department
181 South College Avenue
Newark, DE 19717-5267
Tel.: 302-831-2229
Fax: 302-831-1046
WWW: http://www.lib.udel.edu/ud/spec/
NUC symbol: DLM

  • Timothy D. Murray (PACSCL rep) , Head, Special Collections, (302) 831-6952, tdm@udel.edu
  • L. Rebecca Johnson Melvin (manuscripts), Associate Librarian, (302) 831-6089, lrjm@udel.edu
  • Iris R. Snyder (public services and exhibitions), Associate Librarian, (302) 831-6518, irsnyder@udel.edu

University of Pennsylvania
NUC symbol (gen. collections): PU
NUC symbol (Spec. Coll.): PU-SC
Walter H. and Leonore Annenberg Rare Book & Manuscript Library
Van Pelt-Dietrich Library Center
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6206
Tel.: 215-898-7088
Fax: 215-573-9079
WWW: http://www.library.upenn.edu/special/



Villanova University
Falvey Memorial Library
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova PA 19085-1683
610-519-4291 phone; 610-519-5018 fax
http://www.library.villanova.edu/

  • Joseph Lucia, Library Director
  • Bente Polites, Special Collections Librarian

Wagner Free Institute of Science
NUC symbol: PPWa
1700 West Montgomery Avenue
Philadelphia, PA 19121
Tel.: 215-763-6529
Fax: 215-763-1299
http://www.wagnerfreeinstitute.org/


Winterthur Museum, Garden & Library
NUC symbol: DeWint
Winterthur, DE 19735
Tel.: 302-888-4710
Fax: 302-888-4870
http://www.winterthur.org

  • Catherine Cooney, PACSCL rep
  • E. Richard McKinstry, Librarian-in-Charge, Joseph Downs Collection of Manuscripts and Printed Ephemera, 302-888-4699, ermck@winterthur.org

Go to Table of Contents | PACSCL Homepage


 

 

 

About | Member Profiles | Member Resources | Catalogs | Projects | What's New | Exhibitions and Programs
Shopping | Contact PACSCL
| HOME

New! Use Google to search the special collections portions of all 32 member library websites: (in development)

Site contents copyright 1995-2003 PACSCL except as herein indicated. PACSCL is a nonprofit educational corporation with 501(c)(3) designation.